Fatherhood

Today is my 47th Fathers Day, and I’m so very fortunate. Now retired, living in a safe and secure community. Yes, I am privileged. I live close to my three children and nine grandchildren, and I proudly watch as they meet the challenges of raising a family in today’s society.

I grew up during the proverbial “Happy Days” when for the most part, Dad worked, and Mom stayed home to manage the family. While my children have not followed that exact model, I am most proud of how they are there for each other. Yes, they can, and do, disagree at times, but when push comes to shove, they have each other’s back. I watch as my grandchildren, ages 5 through 18, develop and grow as individuals. Each has a very different personality, strengths, weaknesses, and dreams for the future.

As I said, I am among the privileged. I can’t help but think of the Fathers estranged or separated for their children—the Fathers who have lost a child and the Fathers struggling as single parents. Fatherhood is in itself a privilege and an honor. I am proud to honor my Dad on this Father’s Day, and while he is no longer with us, he served his family, country, and his maker the best he could.

So today, let us lift all men who are blessed to become a father, a most sacred calling.

...that’s 30. Thanks Dad.

One thought on “Fatherhood

  1. Well said! So much to thank God and family for today- especially as we can visit again!
    My 46th Father’s Day!

    Like

Leave a comment